The Doug Purvis Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the authors of a highly significant, written contribution to Canadian economic policy. The award was established in 1994 in honour and memory of noted Canadian economist Doug Purvis. The competition is open to all forms of print media in which material relevant to Canadian economic policy appears, including books, single articles in scholarly journals, government studies including monographs done for royal commissions, think tank reports and a series of articles in newspapers or magazines. The Doug Purvis Memorial Prize selection committee is made up of five Canadian economists from academia, government and the private sector.

For more information, please see the CEA website.

Past Recipients

Stephen Tapp, Ari Van Assche and Robert Wolfe
Stephen Tapp (MA ‘01, PhD ‘08)
Alan Green and Chris Worswick
Toward Improving Canada's Skilled Immigration Policy: An Evaluation Approach